You can create one of the following types of users in your organization.

  • Partner scope - A Partner in OpsRamp is a managed service provider who provides services to multiple clients.
  • Client scope - A Client in OpsRamp represents an IT environment that you want to manage as a single unit having own users.

After creating a user, you can assign the user to act on alerts and grant multiple permission levels to perform various actions. If you want to perform an action that requires multiple usersd, you can define a user group and assign users with roles to the group.

Create a user

  1. Go to All Clients and select a client.

  2. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.

  3. Click the + Add button.

  4. From ADD USER, select the scope:

    • Client - User is added to the selected client.
    • Partner - User is added to the partner and can access all clients across the partner.
  5. Enter user details. Provide an alternate email if you wish to receive notifications in the same.

  6. Enter the mobile number on which you wish to receive SMS and Voice notifications. The mobile number format should be prefixed with the country code.

  7. Select Notification Preferences.

  8. Click Assign Roles. and assign roles to the user.

  9. Click Save if want to create user profile without assigning groups, Otherwise, click Assign Groups.

  10. From Assign Groups, select one of the following to specify group membership for the user:

    • Part of All User Groups
    • Restricted to specific user groups.
    • Part of no User groups
  11. Click Save.

Set notification options

The rimary email address is the default email used for receiving notifications. You can elect to use an alternative email address.

  • Account Information - All account related information is sent to the selected email address.
  • Alert Notification - Alert escalations are sent to the selected email address.
  • Report Notification - Report notifications with the report download URL are sent to the selected email address.

Export user information

You can download and save user information in a CSV or PDF file. Click Export > CSV or Export > PDF to export the file.

Search for a user

You can use the search to find a user by the user name.

For searching multiple users who share the same criteria, use the Advanced option:

  1. Click Advanced. ADVANCED SEARCH window is displayed.

  2. From ADVANCED SEARCH window, provide details for the following parameters and click Search:

    • Select Client

    • Status Notes: You can select users having one of the following states:

      • All - Displays Active, Deactivated, Locked, and Terminated users
      • Active – Users actively using the OpsRamp platform.
      • Deactivated – Currently deactivated users.
      • Locked – Currently locked-out users.
      • Terminated – Users terminated from the OpsRamp platform.
    • Auth Type

      • User Name
      • Email
Manage User Advanced Search

Select the Enable and Disable Two-Factor Action to enable or disable Two-Factor Authentication for the user.

Activate a user

Use the Activate option to permit a user to access OpsRamp, including reactivating a deactivated user:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.
  2. Click Advanced.
  3. From ADVANCED SEARCH, select Deactivated from the Status drop-down.
  4. Click Search. The USERS screen displays the list of deactivated users.
  5. From the USERS page, select the User Names from the list of names.
  6. From the options in the Actions drop-down menu, click Activate.
  7. From the confirmation pop-up, click Yes to continue.

Users are deactivated if they do not provide consent to the agreement in 90 days of their account creation. Before deactivating the account of such users, an email notification is sent after 80 days.

Deactivate a user

Deactivating a user account means disabling the user account for a specific period of time wherein user account and related data would be available on the system but users cannot use the account. The account can be activated later.

Use the Deactivate option to restrict the user access to OpsRamp:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.
  2. Select the user names from the list of items displayed in the USERS LIST page.
  3. From the options in the Actions drop-down menu, click Deactivate.
  4. From the confirmation pop-up, click Yes to continue.
  5. From Deactivate selected user(s)?, provide a reason for deactivating the selected user names.
  6. Click Deactivate. Selected User Names are removed from the USERS page.

After deactivating the user, view the deactivated user details using Advanced Search:

  1. From the USERS page, click Advanced.
  2. From the ADVANCED SEARCH window, select client.
  3. From the options in Status drop-down menu, click Deactivated.
  4. Click Search.

To activate a deactivated user, select the deactivated user from the USERS LIST and click Actions > Activate.

Terminate a user

Terminating a user account means removing the user account permanently wherein user account and related data would not be available on the system and the user cannot use the account. The account cannot be activated later.

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.

  2. Select the User Names from the list of names.

  3. From the options in the Actions drop-down menu, click Terminate.

  4. From the confirmation pop-up, click Yes to continue.

  5. From Terminate the selected user(s)?, select any of the masking patterns option to mask the personal information:

    • Fully Masked – Partially masks First Name and Last Name and completely masks other personal information.
    • Partial Masked – Partially masks all personal information.
  6. Enter the reason for the termination of the selected User Names.

  7. Click Terminate.

All terminated user Personal Identifiable Information (PII), including first name, last name, email, and phone number, is removed from the database and cannot be restored later.

To view the terminated user details:

  1. From the USERS page, click Advanced.
  2. From ADVANCED SEARCH window, select client.
  3. From the options in the Status drop-down menu, click Terminated.
  4. Click Search.

The USERS page displays the terminated user PII in a completely masked or partially masked format and displays the user name as a random unique ID. You can trace back the details of a terminated user using the audit reports. From the generated audit reports, check the Object Name column to map the unique ID and the terminated username.