A partner user can create, activate, deactivate and remove clients, and create client users. Client user access is restricted to a specific client. Partner permissions apply to all partner clients but the partner can restrict some client permissions. A partner can assign one of the following account types to a client user:

  • Regular User: A user that has full access privileges.
  • Business User: A user with restricted access privileges.

Creating clients

  1. Navigate to Setup > Accounts > Clients.

  2. On the CLIENTS page, click +Add.

    This takes you to the NEW CLIENT page and begins the create client workflow indicated by the tabs in the menu bar. At each step in the workflow, click Next to continue to the next step or click Back to return to the previous step. Click Skip to skip data entry on the current page or Finish to complete creating the client.

  3. In the Client Details tab, enter the following required client information and any optional information you want:

    • Client Name
    • Address
    • Country
    • Time Zone
  4. To restrict access to specific IP addresses, select the Restrict Acces To Specific IP(s) check box. Restricting access to specific IP addresses from the console can improve system security. When a partner user attempts to log in from a restricted IP address, the following error message is displayed:

    Your organization’s policies restrict you from accessing OpsRamp from your current IP.

  5. In the Availability Settings section, select the option for the following items:

    • Consider resource to be as: Select the organization resources state during scheduled maintenance.

    • Ignore alert action: Select: Select Yes to ignore suppressed or incident alerts. If you select Yes, select from:

      • All
      • Suppress
      • Incident: Ignore alert actions on resolved and closed incidents.
  6. In the Application Discovery & Dependency Mapping section, select Yes to enable or No to disable the application discovery and dependency mapping.

  7. In the Agent Monitoring Capabilities section, select Yes to enable agent self-monitoring or No to disable agent self-monitoring.

  8. In the Remote Access Management section, for each listed feature, select Yes to enable or No to disable the client to view or access the feature.

  9. In the Agent Policies section, select the check box to apply the policy to the devices listed for your organization. Click the Add New button to define a new policy.

  10. Click Next to move to the package selection workflow.

  11. In the Product Package tab, select the packages you want and click Next to continue.

  12. In the Add-Ons tab, select the check box for the add-ons you want to install and click Next to continue.

  13. On the ADD SERVICES page, select the services and technology that corresponds to the selected services.

  14. Click Next to define service details.

  15. On the SERVICE page, click + to add Alternate Access Details and to add Internet Service Provider Details.

  16. Click Skip or Next to go provide network architecture information.

  17. On the ADD NETWORK ARCHITECTURE page, upload an image of the client network architecture and enter a Title for the image. The network architecture visualization helps clients understand the root cause of alerts.

  18. Click Finish to create the client and display the client configuration on the CLIENT DETAILS page.

Viewing and updating client configuration

You can view the list of clients added to the organization on the CLIENTS page.

Click on a client to edit client settings.

If you are a partner administrator with two-factor authentication enabled and activated, your two-factor key is re-authenticated when you save the updates to CLIENT DETAILS. Three unsuccessful two-factor authentication attempts redirect you to the login page.

Exporting client details

Client details can be downloaded and saved in CSV or PDF file format on your local computer:

  • On the CLIENTS page, select Export.
  • Choose CSV or PDF.

The exported file contains the following information:

AttributeDescription
IdIdentifier assigned to the client
NameClient name
Partner IDIdentifier of the partner to which the client belongs
EmailClient email address
AddressClient address
CityClient city
StateClient state
CountryClient country
ZipClient zip code
Phone NumberClient telephone number
Mobile NumberClient cellular number
Time ZoneClient time zone
External Client IDExternal client identifier
ActivatedClient activation state: **Yes** = activated, **No** = deactivated
Date CreatedDate and time when the client was created
Last Updated ByName of the person who last updated the client details
DesktopsNumber of desktops attached to the client
ServersNumber of servers attached to the client
Network DevicesNumber of network devices attached to the client
Other DevicesNumber of other types of devices attached to the client, such as storage devices

Searching for a client

Use the Search here window to find a client, entering the client name. To searching for clients that share the same configuration details or to filter the search results, use the Advanced search option:

  1. Click Advanced.

  2. Choose the client Status type:

    • All - Displays Active and Deactivated clients.
    • Active – Users actively using the OpsRamp platform.
    • Deactivated – Currently deactivated users.
  3. Enter a Client Name.

Use the Clear All option to reset the advanced search options.

Deactivating clients

Deactivating a client prevents client operations and the following client data is deleted:

  • device management policies

  • alert correlation policies

  • SNMP trap configuration

  • scheduled jobs in the automation tab move into the inactive state

  • client details:

    • ML device configurations
    • management profiles
    • web services
    • devices

The partner administrator can deactivate clients:

  1. On the CLIENTS page, select the check box for the clients you want to deactivate.

  2. Click Deactivate.

  3. Click Yes to confirm you want to deactivate the client.

  4. In the admonition pop-up, choose the deactivation option or cancel the deactivation request:

    • Deactivate
    • Terminate
    • Cancel

You can also select clients to deactivate using Advanced search options:

  1. On the CLIENTS page, click Advanced search.
  2. From the Status drop-down options, select Active.
  3. Click Search and select the client you want to deactivate from the client list.
  4. Click Deactivate.
  5. Click Yes to confirm you want to deactivate the client.
  6. In the admonition pop-up, choose the deactivation option or cancel the deactivation request.

After deactivating the client, use Advanced Search to view the deactivated clients:

  1. On the CLIENTS page, click Advanced search.
  2. Choose the Status drop-down menu option.
  3. Click Deactivated.
  4. Click Search to display deactivated clients.

Activating clients

The administrator can activate deactivated clients:

  1. On the CLIENTS page, click Advanced search.
  2. From the Status drop-down menu options, choose Deactivated.
  3. Click Search to display the list of deactivated clients.
  4. Select the check box for the client you want to activate.
  5. Click Activate.
  6. Click Yes in response to the activation confirmation pop-up.

Terminating clients

Terminating a client prevents all client operations, removes client agents, and uninstalls integrations. The following client data is deleted:

  • device management policies

  • alert correlation policies

  • SNMP trap configuration

  • scheduled jobs in the automation tab move into the inactive state

  • client details:

    • ML device configurations
    • management profiles
    • web services
    • devices

The partner administrator can terminate clients from the OpsRamp platform:

  1. On the CLIENTS screen, click Advanced search.
  2. From the Status drop-down menu options, choose Active.
  3. Click Search to display the list of active clients.
  4. Select the check box for the client you want to terminate.
  5. Click Terminate. This removes the client from the client list.