Documentation is now available for the Fall 2020 Update release!

Managing Clients

Describes the various ways to manage clients.

Leave Feedback

Introduction

A partner can create client users and can access all clients in the account. The role of a client user is restricted to a specific client. Managing the clients is easy using multiple actions, such as activating, deactivating, and terminating clients.

Use one of the following account types for the client users in the organization:

  • Regular User: A user that has complete access privileges.
  • Business User: A user with fewer access privileges.

Creating clients

A partner user can create a client in the organization. Even though all permissions enabled in the partner’s modules section apply to all clients, they have the liberty to alter their permissions. 

To add a client:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From CLIENTS, click the +Add icon.
  3. From NEW CLIENT > Client Details, provide the following:
    • Provide the basic information. For example, Address, City, and Country.
    • Restrict Access to Specific IP(s): Select the check box to restrict access to specific IPs.
      Note: Restricting access to specific IP addresses from the console can help to curb the possibility of any security issues. OpsRamp displays the following error message when the partner user attempts to log into the OpsRamp platform from any IP address other than the allowed ones: Your organization’s policies restrict you from accessing OpsRamp from your current IP.
    • Auto Monitoring Resources: Select Yes or No to enable or disable the automatic monitoring of resources, respectively.
      Notes:
      • The partner user cannot disable Auto-Monitoring.
      • Allows alert definition model only after enabling auto-monitoring.
      • After enabling Auto-Monitoring, the console does not display the following sections:
        • Assign Monitoring Template section in Device Management Policies.
        • Templates and Assign Templates in Setup > Monitoring.
        • Monitors and Templates on the resource details page.
        • Synthetics in Infrastructure.
        • Budget Policies.
    • Availability Settings: Set values for the following:
      • Consider resource to be as: Select the state of resources in the organization during the scheduled maintenance.
      • Ignore alert action: Select Yes or No to ignore suppressed or incident alerts. If you select Yes, choose one of the following:
        • All
        • Suppress
        • Incident
          Note: Ignores alert actions on resolved and closed incidents.
    • Application Discovery & Dependency Mapping: Select Yes or No to enable or disable the application discovery and dependency mapping, respectively.
    • Remote Access Management: Select Yes or No to enable or disable the client to view or access the following:
      • JNLP Consoles
      • Browser Consoles
      • Disk Shares
      • Audit Data Conversion
      • Remote Commands
    • Agent Policies: Define agent policies for all devices created in the organization.
  4. From Product Package, select the desired packages.
  5. After selecting the packages, go to Add Ons.
    The screen displays Add-Ons for the selected packages.
  6. From Add-Ons, select the desired Add-Ons.
  7. After selecting the Add-Ons, go to Service Provider Services.
    Note: Click Finish to skip other steps to add a new client.
  8. From ADD SERVICES, select the Services and Technology corresponding to the services selected.
  9. After providing details in the Service Provider Services section, go to Service Details.
  10. From SERVICE screen, provide Alternate Access Details and Internet Service Provider Details.
  11. After providing Service Details, go to Network Architecture.
  12. From the ADD NETWORK ARCHITECTURE section, upload an image file that describes the entire architecture of the client’s network.
    The network architecture enables the client to understand the root cause for the alerts in the event of an issue.
  13. Click Finish.
    The CLIENT DETAILS page appears.

After creating a client, perform the following:

  • View the list of clients added to the organization from the CLIENTS page.
  • Manage the actions performed on a client from the CLIENTS page.

Exporting client details

The client details can be downloaded or saved in CSV (.csv file) or PDF (.pdf file) format on the local machine.

To export:

  • Select Export > CSV.
  • Select Export > PDF.

Searching for clients

Use the search to find a client using the client’s name. For searching multiple clients sharing the same criteria, use Advanced options.

Use Advanced Search to filter the search results.

To search using additional options:

  1. Click Advanced.
  2. From ADVANCED SEARCH, provide the following information and click Search.
    • Status
      Notes: Select users having one of the following states:
      • All - Displays Active and Deactivated clients.
      • Active – Users actively using the OpsRamp platform.
      • Deactivated – Currently deactivated users.
    • Client Name

Use the Clear All option to reset the details provided in the ADVANCED SEARCH window.

Activating clients

The administrator can always reactivate a client and re-grant access. 

To activate a client:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From the CLIENTS screen, click Advanced.
  3. From options displayed in the Status drop-down, select Deactivated.
  4. Click Search.
    CLIENTS screen displays the list of deactivated users.
  5. From the CLIENTS page, select the desired client names from the list.
  6. Click Activate.
    A confirmation message is displayed.
  7. Click Yes.

Deactivating clients

The partner administrator can deactivate clients. 

To deactivate a client:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From the CLIENTS screen, click Advanced.
  3. From options displayed in the Status drop-down, select Active.
  4. Click Search and select the desired client names from the list of items displayed.
  5. Click Deactivate.
    A confirmation message is displayed.
  6. Click Yes to continue, and click Deactivate again.

The selected client name(s) is removed.

After deactivating the client, use Advanced Search to view the deactivated client details.

To view the deactivated user details:

  1. From the CLIENTS page, click Advanced.
  2. From the options in the Status drop-down menu, click Deactivated.
  3. Click Search.
    CLIENTS screen displays deactivated clients.

Terminating clients

The partner administrator can terminate clients from the OpsRamp platform. 

To terminate clients:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From the CLIENTS screen, click Advanced.
  3. From options displayed in the Status drop-down, select Active.
  4. Click Search.
    The CLIENTS screen displays the list of activated users.
  5. Select the desired client names from the list of items displayed on the CLIENTS screen.
  6. Click Terminate.
    Selected client names are removed from the CLIENTS screen.

Additional information

  • Suspending a client leads to the restraining of all the concerned operations.
  • Terminating a client leads to the end of all concerned operations, removes all Agents, and uninstall the Integrations.
  • The following data gets deleted after deactivating or terminating a client:
    • Device management policies.
    • Alert correlation policies.
    • SNMP trap configuration.
    • All scheduled jobs in the automation tab move into the inactive state.
    • Removes the following details:
      • All ML configurations of devices.
      • All management profiles.
      • Web Services.
      • Devices

Viewing client data

Client Attributes
AttributesDescription
Client NameThe name of the client.
ServicesThe services and technologies chosen for the client.
Date CreatedThe date and time when the client was created in the organization.
Last Updated ByThe name of the person who last updated the client details.
NotesThe additional information attached to the client.
Alert EscalationThe view alert escalation policies. Click the eye icon to view the alert escalation policies for the client.
MapThe network architecture diagram for the client.
DesktopsThe number of desktops attached to the client
ServersThe number of servers attached to the client
Network DevicesThe number of network devices attached to the client
Other DevicesThe number of devices such as Storage devices, and so on.