Managing Users

Describes how to manage users.

Leave Feedback

Introduction

You can create one of the following types of users in your organization.

  • Partner User - A Partner in OpsRamp is a managed service provider who provides services to multiple clients.
  • Client User - A Client in OpsRamp represents an IT environment that you want to manage as a single unit having own users.

After creating a user in your organization, you can assign these users to act on the alerts raised while monitoring your resources. You can grant multiple levels of permissions to users to perform actions.

If you want to perform a unique action where multiple users are required, you can add users to a user group and assign roles. Once you have created users and user groups, you can schedule their duties in the organization.

Creating users

To create a user profile:

  1. Go to All Clients and select a client.
  2. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.
  3. Click the + Add button.
  4. From ADD USER, select the scope of the user.
    • Client - User is added to the selected client.
    • Partner - User is added to the partner and can access all clients across the partner.
  5. Provide user details. Provide an alternate email if you wish to receive notifications in the same.
  6. Provide the mobile number on which you wish to receive SMS and Voice notifications.  Mobile number format should be prefixed with country code. Example: The mobile number format for the United States is +1 523 232 4543.
  7. Select Notification Preferences:
    1. Click Assign Roles.
    2. Assign roles to the user. Selected Roles displays the chosen Roles.
  8. Click Save if want to create user profile without assigning groups or else click Assign Groups.
  9. Assign a group to the user.
    From Assign Groups, select one of the following:
    • Part of All User Groups             
    • Restricted to specific user groups.              
    • Part of no User groups             
  10. Click Save.

You can perform the following actions after the user creation process:

  • View: Click the User Name to view the details on the USER DETAILS screen.
  • Edit: Click Edit on the USER DETAILS screen to modify the user details.

Email notifications

Primary email is the default email used to receive notifications. However, you can choose to use an alternative email.

  • Account Information - All account related information is sent to the selected email. Example: Password reset instructions.
  • Alert Notification - User is notified about alert escalations in the selected email.
  • Report Notification - User can subscribe to receive report notifications which contain the URL to download reports.

Exporting user details 

You can download and save the user details in CSV (.csv file) or PDF (.pdf file) format on your local machine. Click Export > CSV or Export > PDF to export the file.

Searching

You can use the search to find a user by the user name. For searching multiple users sharing the same criteria, use Advanced option.

You can filter your search results using the advanced search.

To search using additional options:

  1. Click Advanced. ADVANCED SEARCH window appears.
  2. From ADVANCED SEARCH window, provide details for the following parameters and click Search:
    • Select Client
    • Status Notes: You can select users having one of the following states:
      • All - Displays Active, Deactivated, Locked, and Terminated users
      • Active – Users actively using the OpsRamp platform.
      • Deactivated – Currently deactivated users.
      • Locked – Currently locked-out users.
      • Terminated – Users terminated from the OpsRamp platform.
    • Auth Type
      • User Name
      • Email
Manage User Advanced Search

Manage User Advanced Search

Actions 

The following actions are used to manage users:

  • Activate - You can use the Activate option to allow any restricted user to access OpsRamp.
  • Deactivate – You can use the Deactivate option to restrict the user from the OpsRamp portal.
    To activate a deactivated user, select the deactivated user from the USERS LIST and click *Actions > Activate.
  • Enable and Disable Two-Factor – You can enable or disable Two-Factor Authentication for users created in OpsRamp. Two-Factor authentication enhances the level of security while authenticating the identity of a user.
  • Terminate – You can always terminate the user from the OpsRamp platform under various scenarios. For example, a user remains inactive or is deactivated for more than 90 days. 
Manage User

Manage User

Activate users

The administrator can always reactivate a user and grant access to OpsRamp again.

To activate a user:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.
  2. Click Advanced.
  3. From ADVANCED SEARCH, select Deactivated from the Status drop-down.
  4. Click Search. The USERS screen displays the list of deactivated users.
  5. From the USERS page, select the desired User Name (s) from the list of names.
  6. From the options in the Actions drop-down menu, click Activate.
  7. From the confirmation popup, click Yes to continue.

Deactivate users

The client administrator can deactivate users from the OpsRamp platform. For example, for deactivation, the administrator can consider the following reasons:

  • The user leaves an organization and no longer uses OpsRamp.
  • The user stops using OpsRamp.
  • The user is facing consent issues.

To deactivate a user:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.
  2. Select the desired user names from the list of items displayed in the USERS LIST page.
  3. From the options in the Actions drop-down menu, click Deactivate.
  4. From the confirmation popup, click Yes to continue.
  5. From Deactivate selected user(s)?, provide a reason for deactivating the selected user names.
  6. Click Deactivate. Selected User Name(s) is removed from the USERS page.

After deactivating the user, view the deactivated user details using Advanced Search.

To view the deactivated user details:

  1. From the USERS page, click Advanced.
  2. From the ADVANCED SEARCH window, select client.
  3. From the options in Status drop-down menu, click Deactivated.
  4. Click Search.

Terminate users

The client administrator can terminate users from the OpsRamp platform.

To terminate a user:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Users.
  2. Select the desired User Name(s) from the list of names.
  3. From the options in the Actions drop-down menu, click Terminate.
  4. From the confirmation popup, click Yes to continue.
  5. From Terminate the selected user(s)?, select any of the desired masking patterns option to mask the personal information:
    • Fully Masked – Partially masks First Name and Last Name and completely masks other personal information.
    • Partial Masked – Partially masks all personal information.
  6. Provide the reason for the termination of the selected User Names.
  7. Click Terminate.

To view the terminated user details:

  1. From the USERS page, click Advanced.
  2. From ADVANCED SEARCH window, select client.
  3. From the options in the Status drop-down menu, click Terminated.
  4. Click Search.