Managing Clients

Describes the various ways to manage clients.

Leave Feedback

Introduction

A partner can create client users and can access all clients in your account. The role of a client user is restricted to a specific client. You can manage clients using multiple actions, such as activating, deactivating, and terminating clients.

You can create one of the following types of account types for the client users in your organization:

  • Regular User: A user that has complete access privileges.
  • Business User: A user with fewer access privileges.

Creating clients

You can create a client in your organization. Even though all permissions enabled in your modules section apply to all clients, you have the liberty to alter their permissions. 

To add a client:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From CLIENTS, click the +Add icon.
  3. From NEW CLIENT > Client Details, provide the following:
    • Provide the basic information. For example, Address, City, and Country.
    • Restrict Access to Specific Ips: Select the check box to restrict access to specific Ips.
      Note: Restricting access to specific IP addresses from the OpsRamp platform can help you curb the possibility of any security issues. OpsRamp displays the following error message when you attempt to log into the OpsRamp platform from any IP address other than the allowed ones: _Your organization’s policies restrict you from accessing OpsRamp from your current IP.
    • Availability Settings: Select the state of resources in the organization during the scheduled maintenance window.
    • Application Discovery & Dependency Mapping: Select Yes or No to enable or disable the application discovery and dependency mapping, respectively.
    • Remote Access Management: Select Yes or No to enable or disable the client to view or access the following:
      • JNLP Consoles
      • Browser Consoles
      • Disk Shares
      • Audit Data Conversion
      • Remote Commands
    • Agent Policies: Define agent policies for all devices created in the organization.
  4. After providing Client Details, navigate to Product Package.
    The screen displays the available packages.
  5. From Product Package, select the desired packages.
  6. After selecting the packages, navigate to Add Ons.
    The screen displays Add-Ons with respect to the selected packages.
  7. From Add-Ons, select the desired Add-Ons.
  8. After selecting the Add-Ons, navigate to Service Provider Services. Note: You can click Finish to skip other steps to add a new client.
  9. From ADD SERVICES, select the Services and Technology corresponding to the services selected.
  10. After providing details in Service Provider Services section, navigate to Service Details.
  11. From SERVICE screen, provide Alternate Access Details and Internet Service Provider Details.
  12. After providing Service Details, navigate to the Network Architecture section.
  13. From ADD NETWORK ARCHITECTURE screen, upload an image file that describes the entire architecture of your client’s network.
    The network architecture enables the client to understand the root cause for the alerts in the event of any issue.
  14. Click Finish. CLIENT DETAILS page appears.

Once you create a client, you can:

  • View the list of clients added to your organization from the CLIENTS page.
  • Manage the actions performed on a client from the CLIENTS page.

Exporting client details

You can download and save the client details in CSV (.csv file) or PDF (.pdf file) format on your local machine.

To export:

  • Select Export > CSV.
  • Select Export > PDF.

Searching for clients

You can use the search to find a client using the name of the client. For searching multiple clients sharing the same criteria, use Advanced options.

You can filter your search results using the Advanced search.

To search using additional options:

  1. Click Advanced.
  2. From ADVANCED SEARCH, provide the following information and click Search.
    • Status Notes: You can select users having one of the following states:
      • All - Displays Active and Deactivated clients.
      • Active – Users actively using the OpsRamp platform.
      • Deactivated – Currently deactivated users.
    • Client Name

You can use the Clear All option to reset the details provided in the ADVANCED SEARCH window.

Activating clients

The administrator can always reactivate a client and re-grant access. 

To activate a client:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From the CLIENTS screen, click Advanced.
  3. From options displayed in Status drop-down, select Deactivated.
  4. Click Search. CLIENTS screen displays the list of deactivated users.
  5. From CLIENTS page, select the desired Client Name (s) from the list.
  6. Click Activate. A confirmation message is displayed.
  7. Click Yes.

Deactivating clients

The partner administrator can deactivate clients. 

To deactivate a client:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From CLIENTS screen, click Advanced.
  3. From options displayed in Status drop-down, select Active.
  4. Click Search and select the desired client names from the list of items displayed.
  5. Click Deactivate, Yes to continue, and Deactivate again.

The selected client name(s) is removed.

After deactivating the client, you can view the deactivated client details using Advanced Search.

To view the deactivated user details:

  1. From the CLIENTS page, click Advanced.
  2. From the options in Status drop-down menu, click Deactivated.
  3. Click Search. CLIENTS screen displays deactivated clients.

Terminating clients

The partner administrator can terminate clients from the OpsRamp platform. 

To terminate clients:

  1. Go to Setup > Accounts > Clients.
  2. From the CLIENTS screen, click Advanced.
  3. From options displayed in Status drop-down, select Active.
  4. Click Search. The CLIENTS screen displays the list of activated users.
  5. Select the desired Client Names from the list of items displayed in the CLIENTS screen.
  6. Click Terminate. Selected Client Name (s) is removed from the CLIENTS screen.

Additional information

  • Suspending a client leads to the restraining of all the concerned operations.
  • Terminating a client leads to the end of all concerned operations, removes all Agents, and uninstall the Integrations.
  • The following data gets deleted after deactivating or terminating a client:
    • Device management policies.
    • Alert correlation policies.
    • SNMP trap configuration.
    • All scheduled jobs in the automation tab move into the inactive state.
    • Removes the following details:
      • All ML configurations of devices.
      • All management profiles.
      • Web Services.
      • Devices

Viewing client data

Client Attributes
AttributesDescription
Client NameRefers to the name of the client.
ServicesRefers to the services and technologies chosen for the client.
Date CreatedRefers to the date and time when you created the client in your organization.
Last Updated ByRefers to the name of the person who last updated the client details.
NotesRefers to the additional information attached to the client.
Alert EscalationRefers to view alert escalation policies. You can click the eye icon to view the alert escalation policies for the client.
MapRefers to the network architecture diagram for the client.
Inventory
DesktopsRefers to the number of desktops attached to the client
ServersRefers to the number of servers attached to the client
Network DevicesRefers to the number of network devices attached to the client
Other DevicesRefers to the number of devices such as Storage devices, and so on.